jump to navigation

What is the matter with Thomas Vanek? November 11, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’m almost positive I wrote this same post at some point in the season last year. I’d have to go back through my archives to be sure, and I’m FAR too busy lazy to do so, but I’m pretty sure the topic came up.

 

What is wrong with Thomas Vanek?

 

There is no good answer to this question. I know I’m not the only one who’s sat here on my couch or in the arena for the past couple of seasons and asked yourself the exact same thing. He’s a professional hockey player – a very, very good professional hockey player. Given that, how can his ego be so fragile that he would be afraid to do the very thing that MAKES him successful? This boggles the mind of rational, logical people; probably because it’s neither rational or logical.

What can be done to help him? I’ve got to think he’s already seen/is seeing a sports psychologist. If not, you have some explaining to do, Ryan Miller, about why you haven’t given him your therapist’s number and a ride to the freakin’ appointment to make sure he goes in. I’ve got to think he’s already heard the cajoling, the lectures, and the threats from the coaching staff. And we all know his own head screams at him 24/7, so what is it going to take to snap him out of this fragile state of mind?

  • Does he need his teammates to support him more? Less?
  • Does he need a different team to play on?
  • Does he need a different coach to deal with him?

I don’t know, but I wish the Sabres would convene a Think Tank until they figure it out, because if I see him pass up another glorious scoring chance handing directly down from heaven I might just melt into a puddle of angry and disappointed fan on the floor. And that would be gross. So be better, Van. The fans still love you (well, most of us).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

