jump to navigation

Peguladay: my top five thoughts February 23, 2011

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

So February 22, 2011 was declared “Peguladay” in the greater Western New York area, and I think that’s great. Anytime my favorite team can generate positive buzz makes me happy. I decided the best way for me to express my overall thoughts on the Pegula Era, however, was in a Top 5 list. I do like lists…

  1. Terry Pegula seems like a very nice man. His kids and wife obviously love him and vice versa. However, don’t think he’s a pushover who will bow to fan pressure. You don’t become a billionaire by acquiescing to those around you, and that’s fine with me. It’s his team and I’m sure he’ll do the best he can.
  2. The two other guys he brought in are solid hockey minds. Neither one of them is going to be wowed by the current roster, which I also think is a good thing. If the Sabres are pure sellers at the trade deadline, that’s fine with me. Get rid of the dead weight and then actually sign some impact players in July. I’m on board if that’s the plan.
  3. Keeping Darcy Regier is a calculated risk which by itself dims the luster of this occasion in the eyes of many fans. But let’s look at it this way – first, Pegula won’t give him unlimited time to turn the ship around; and second, give him a chance to work without financial constraints and see what he’s able to do.
  4. Making Buffalo a premier place to play hockey sounds like a splendid idea. But short of paying players lots of money, how do they plan to do that? I heard nothing today that sounded like an actionable step beyond spending more on player salaries and refurb-ing what looks like a pretty nice locker room already. Oh, and a vague thing about more development coaches. Do we really need more of those?
  5. None of this will mean a thing if the players don’t show up with some “give a damn” this week and next. Buffalo fans are fickle creatures and the shine will wear off quite quickly if the team is still losing at home and no “significant” moves are made at the deadline.

So there you have it. It’s almost 1am and I’ve had a migraine since 4pm, so this is the most coherent this post is going to get. Sabres play Atlanta tomorrow (well, actually, later today) – kicking them all over the ice would be a good step, just so you know, guys.

Comments»

1. Chris V - February 24, 2011

I think something that’d go a long way towards building player relations is actually treating our alumni with respect. Ask yourself, how many times have you actually seen Perrault around the sabres organization? Or anybody besides Danny Gare in reference to the alumni?

Think about how we treated Chris Drury and Danny Briere. We put out unofficial offers to their agents during the season, and then didn’t do crap to sign them. Briere has said he would have signed for much less during the season but never got any response. We offer stupid terms to people who deserve much better, and there are rumors going around that Darcy Regier is awful to deal with in terms of player trades.

Those are the intangibles that we need to work with and change. Waiving Rivet is a step in that direction. Can you imagine wanting to come to a place that won’t move or play your captain?

manda903 - February 24, 2011

I agree that waiving Rivet and trying to give him a chance to play elsewhere is the way to go. And yes, they definitely fumbled Drury and Briere. But they do a lot with alumni compared to most other teams I’ve seen. Larry Playfair is around a lot, plus Mike Robitaille, Rob Ray, etc. I can’t fault them for their handling of alumni.

manda903 - February 24, 2011

One more thing – we don’t know that they WOULDN’T move Rivet. My guess is that they tried and no one wanted him, which is what led them to waive him.

2. Tweets that mention Peguladay: my top five thoughts « Two Minutes for Roughing -- Topsy.com - February 23, 2011

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amanda R Twentyfive and Alan White, Amanda Twentyfive. Amanda Twentyfive said: Peguladay: my top five thoughts http://wp.me/pCXAE-nr […]

3. Bart Blum - February 23, 2011

I haven’t read or seen anything about the players’ perspective of this shift. In fact, they seem rather depressed when you see them on camera.

All the fan support in the world (and I think Buffalo gained quite a bit of it yesterday) won’t mean a thing if players don’t take this as a shot in the arm.

Your thoughts?

manda903 - February 23, 2011

I think the Buffalo News has a story re player reaction this morning. I haven’t had time to look but I think our esteemed Mike Harrington is on the case!

manda903 - February 23, 2011

And yes, you’re totally correct!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

