jump to navigation

Training camp reflections: Lindy yells loudly September 13, 2009

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

This post is reeeeaaalllyyy long. I apologize in advance, but I have a lot of opinions.

Well, I went to training camp today. I was there from 10:30-2:30 or so, and I saw the entire pre-scrimmage practice AND the whole scrimmage. Basically, they divided the guys into three teams – it was actually a draft that took place w/the coaches, the hockey department, and the business department. The guys in the practice group this morning (Stafford, Roy, Hecht, MacArthur, Tallinder, Lydman etc) were chosen by the coaches.

So, my impressions:

  • True to reports, the guys are all in shape and skating well. I only saw a rook or two who was sucking wind – the veterans were fine.
  • Lalime and Enroth, who were the goalies in the practice group, started out pretty shaky and I was getting worried. When they started the real drills, though, both of them rose to the occasion and played pretty well.
  • Miller looks great. I think the Olympic camp did him some good. Yes, it’s more work on his stick-thin body but he looks like he’s in mid-season form.
  • Tallinder, so far, doesn’t appear to suck. Let’s hope that continues. He and Lydman played together and looked pretty comfortable. Gerbe did smoke Tallinder once, but that little dude is FAST.
  • The nickname being bandied around for Gerbe is Mighty Mouse.
  • Roy, Stafford, and Hecht looked good together.
  • One guy, who I’m pretty sure was Cody McCormick, was very attentive whenever Lindy drew up plays on the white boards. For the most part the veterans hung back and let the rooks get in close but he was right there, staring at the board like it held the meaning of life. I like it.
  • When Lindy was drawing up plays the veterans didn’t bat an eyelash but I’m sorry to say some of the rooks looked positively baffled during some of the whiteboard sessions.
  • Tim Connolly looked really fast – he scored two out of five of his team’s goals, I think. He played with Vanek and some other dude.
  • Vanek yells at himself and slams his stick even during scrimmage. Kid could use a Valium or three.
  • Lindy can yell really loudly.
  • Myers is very tall. He got smoked a time or two, but it was by veterans, so I’ll forgive him.
  • Tim Kennedy could fit in my pocket, with room for my cell phone.
  • Paul Byron is even smaller than Tim Kennedy and Nathan Gerbe. I thought he was a coach’s kid or something. Not so.
  • Craig Rivet was yelling at his team. Again, I like it.
  • Steve Montador wasn’t someone I noticed, and that’s fine with me.
  • Chris Butler, Andrej Sekera (who broke two sticks during a 90-minute practice) and Mike Weber all look pretty confident.
  • Nathan Paetsch needs to find a new zip code, stat. There ain’t room in this town for the both of us (or the other eight guys he’s battling for a spot). On a related note, Marc-Andre Gragnani is coming along nicely in his development.
  • One reason Tyler Myers may not make the Sabres is because from what I can see he plays on the same side as Rivet, Montador, and Lydman. Who would he play with? I don’t want him with one of the other youngins. *shudder*
  • If Lindy goes with seven defensemen like usual I wouldn’t want to be the person who has to make the decision about who stays and goes. I would assume only Rivet and Lydman are locks for positions, based on what Lindy said about Tallinder recently. Probably Montador too, since he hasn’t been around long enough to piss anyone off.
  • I also do not envy the staff the decision about which snot-nosed brats stay with the team as forwards.

However, given all that, after the extensive analysis I did in one day at training camp, here’s my 23-man roster.

Vanek-Connolly-Pominville
Hecht-Roy-Stafford
Kaleta-Gaustad-Grier
Mair-Paille-Kennedy
MacArthur

Butler-Rivet
Sekera-Montador
Tallinder-Lydman
Myers

Miller
Lalime

I’m taking a flyer on Myers. Weber is more ready but leaving Myers in juniors doesn’t seem good for his development, while Weber hanging in Portland until the inevitable injury on defense doesn’t seem like a bad idea.

Sent to Portland (no roster limit): Gerbe, Ellis, Adam, Byron, McCormick, Cowan, Rank, Lagace, Legault, McCutcheon, Gogulla (or back to Europe), Ennis, Schutz, Turnbull, Whitmore, Gragnani, Weber, Persson, DiPenta, Kostka, Schiestel, Generous, Enroth, Lamoureaux
Total forwards in Portland: 14
Total defensemen in Portland: 8
Total goaltenders in Portland: 2

Sent to juniors: Crawford, Kassian, Brennan, McNabb
Waived: Paetsch, Larsen, Stokes

My job here is done. Your thoughts?

Comments»

1. Richard - September 14, 2009

Pretty good analysis. I haven’t seen them so it’s hard to comment. I mostly want to see a lot of toughness at each end, with a good dose of determination. We know that a lot of these guys can put the puck in the net but if they aren’t controlling play it won’t happen. I think back to other teams like the Trottier-Bossy Islanders. They were successful because nobody pushed them around. We have not had that for a while.

2. Heather B. - September 13, 2009

I think Weber is far more ready for NHL play than Myers. I want him to earn the spot in camp but I’m not sold on Myers playing against veterans in the NHL. I don’t think he’s physically mature enough. I realize I’m in the minority but unless one of the vets absolutely crashes and burns, I’d rather him get stronger first even if it means another year in juniors.

manda903 - September 14, 2009

It’s definitely a valid point that Myers could use a little more hair on his chest, and I’m wary of rushing him into the league ala Steven Stamkos. That being said, I think Weber will still be with the Sabres for much of the season because of injuries, so it’s not like the team is dismissing him in favor of Myers.
Besides, you just want your boy to make the team. 😉 He looked good yesterday.


Leave a Reply

