jump to navigation

No more Pie… October 20, 2009

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

So the Sabres traded Dan Paille, to the surprise of, apparently, quite a few people. I’m not one of those people. They’re clearing roster space and getting rid of an underachiever who doesn’t appear to be a favorite of Lindy Ruff’s.

Oh, and to the person who found my blog by searching for “dan paille death” – he’s not dead, he’s a Bruin, so that just means he’s dead to us. It wasn’t his fault he got traded. Well, not entirely. Trying harder would’ve helped his case.

Don’t get me wrong – overall, I liked Paille. He’s a nice kid. But you can’t tell me he was playing anywhere near his potential, and with guys like Gerbe and Kennedy around, he was expendable.

I can hear you all now, “But Paille was a big body!” Yes, but he rarely used his size. No matter how long I watch hockey I will NEVER understand why big guys don’t use their size. Doesn’t playing hockey become easier when you use your size to overpower your opponent? Total head scratcher to me.

I think this trade will be good for Paille and for the team. I wish him well, I don’t want fans to boo him (but they will anyway). Maybe I’ll write something about my opinion on booing Thursday or Friday. Until then, you’ll all have to live in suspense.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

