jump to navigation

Where have you gone, Thomas Vanek? November 15, 2009

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Thomas,

I know I’ve tried to give you advice before, but I want you to really consider it this time. If you don’t, you will be benched. Obviously I can’t bench you, but after 13 years I think I know Lindy Ruff pretty well, and he’s got you on a short leash. Here’s what I want you to do:

  1. Stop taking dumb penalties. I know, I know, you’re really hard on yourself, you don’t need me telling you that, etc. I think you do, though. If you didn’t you’d stop taking dumb penalties.
  2. Quit being so hard on yourself. That’s what Lindy is for, and you’re spoiling his fun.
  3. Shoot the puck. I repeat, shoot the puck. Shoot it from anywhere and everywhere. If you doubt the validity of this advice, go watch some game tape of the recent goals by Drew Stafford and Tyler Ennis.
  4. If you’re not going to score, do other stuff. Follow Tim Connolly’s example (wow, never thought I’d say that): if you aren’t scoring goals, do other stuff, like getting assists and backchecking. You do know what backchecking is, right? Ask your teammates.

Now, I don’t want you to think I don’t like you. I do. I just want you to be the best player you can be. I do this because I love you.

Sincerely,

Amanda

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

