jump to navigation

Sabres vs Blackhawks 12/11/09 Postmortem December 11, 2009

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

After reading today’s Buffalo News, the thing I was looking forward to most was the chance Tim Kennedy would fight Patrick Kane. You might be thinking – pshaw, they’re both puny. This is true, but it’s also true both of them are from South Buffalo, land of merry Irishmen. I’m guessing they can take care of themselves.

There was a conversation on WGR this afternoon where Schopp and Bulldog debated what kind of responsibility Lindy Ruff had to the fans. After all, this is a “Gold” Friday night game. Tomorrow’s game is on the road. If someone pays a lot for their ticket should they rightfully get to see the best product the team is able to put on the ice?

I benched Pominville and played Bufthererglien instead. I hope I don’t regret it.

Liked:

  • At one point in the first period the shots were 14-2 Chicago. From that stat you’d assume the Sabres were playing like poo. Not so. Yes, there were a lot of shots, but they weren’t good shots. If I knew how many scoring chances the Blackhawks had in the first I think it would be a better judge of what happened. The boys kept the shots to the outside and let Lalime see them.
  • Lalime played a whale of a first period. I’m not as down on Lalime as some other people are, but I think as a fan you’re always a little more nervous when the backup is in net.
  • Lalime (can you tell I’ve been impressed so far?) stuck up for himself when a Blackhawk got too close. For a minute I thought the offender was going to be singing soprano for a while, but Lalime’s stick made contact further down. Pity.
  • It looked like C-Mac wasn’t going to be denied on that goal. Almost had another about 30 seconds later.
  • Tallinder is having another good game. He likes being a Papa Bear. Of course, Myers can’t exactly say “This bed is tooo big.”
  • Huet didn’t look especially good. I think the Sabres won this goaltending duel.
  • I noticed Sekera getting up ice a few times tonight. I like it. I’m guessing playing with Steve Montador is making that easier.

Didn’t like:

  • The Sabres took too many penalties. Maybe they figure since their PK is so good they can take penalties willy-nilly. I bet Lindy took some time in between the first and second periods to dispel that notion.
  • Derek Roy’s 25% faceoff win stat after two periods is not sexy. Neither is his faux hawk, but that’s an entirely different conversation. Derek – you were so good at faceoffs for a while – what happened? Did you go out drinking with your old friend Soupy last night?
  • Pominville is getting primo chance after primo chance and not converting. Maybe he lacks confidence or something but he’s got to start putting the puck in the net. You all know Pominville is my favorite player, but I’m not afraid to criticize him when I think it’s warranted. At least he’s getting chances – with him, I’ll look on the bright side of things.
  • Is it just me or has Connolly pretty much disappeared lately? I’m not a fan of a guy making $4.5 million who I don’t even notice is on the ice. I’ve never been high on Connolly, and I thought the Sabres were smoking crack with the deal they gave him.
  • After 2/3 of the third period Roy is at 20% on faceoffs. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, “Come back soon, Goose!”

Tomorrow, the Rangers at the Garden. Blech. Good luck, boys.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

