jump to navigation

Sabres vs Coyotes 1/18/10 Postmortem January 18, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Even though I knew I shouldn’t, I watched the Cormier hit. It made me sick to my stomach, and there’s no place for behavior like that in hockey. Considering this wasn’t the first time he’s done this, (if you haven’t seen the other hits, one that I know of from the WJC and one from the Memorial Cup, they’re here and here), maybe it’s time for him to find a new occupation. IMO people with anger management issues should not be playing hockey. If you’re not sure about that statement, I urge you to think about guys like Todd Bertuzzi and many others who I don’t think should be playing now.

On to the game…

Liked:

  • Fast start. About time.
  • Great shot by Tyler Myers. Low, hard, and timed well.
  • I have to admit I’m a HUGE fan of the home team getting booed when the Sabres take it to them.
  • On their first power play the Sabres are moving the puck really well. Too many passes and not enough shots toward the end there, but it lookeed better than many recent offerings have.
  • Stafford is a beast so far in the first period.
  • Fourth line is doing its job and tiring out the opposition.
  • Ryan Miller, Ryan Miller. You make me so happy.
  • Second period, same as the first…
  • Aaaand Bryzgalov takes a seat. Brutal for my fantasy league, fantastic for my viewing pleasure.
  • Loving Kaleta. Now do you all believe that he’s a much better hockey player than everyone gives him credit for?
  • I hope Butler is picking his game up. He was struggling for a bit there. Good to see him score. And WHAT A PASS from Vanek.
  • Another great pass. This time Connolly to Pominville. Good shot too. I don’t think Pominville has played badly lately, he just hasn’t gotten many points.
  • Nice defensive play here at the end of the second by Connolly.
  • Ok, these goals are getting ridiculous. I could’ve saved several of these.
  • Awww, a hug from Lindy Ruff for Van. Van usually looks like he could use a hug. Maybe he’ll smile a little now. Such a nice smile, but we never see it.
  • Kaleta draws his nightly penalty. Yawn.
  • Great game, Pommer. Good boy!

Didn’t like:

  • After one period, I’ve got nothing. I think that’s a first.
  • Stevie Stevie, you can’t hug your opponent. It’s against the rules. And… well, just weird.
  • The Sabres need to take better care of their sticks. They explode far too often.

That was the most complete game I think the Sabres have played all year. Good job, guys!

So there’s another game tomorrow night. Man, I love games all the time. See y’all then!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

