jump to navigation

A very similar blog post… February 28, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I’m guessing, even though I haven’t read my fellow Sabres bloggers’ posts about tonight, that we’re all saying pretty much the same thing:

  1. Ryan Miller (aka Crunchy) is awesome and we still love him.
  2. We’re proud of Team USA.
  3. Noowwww let’s play some hockkkkeeeeeyyyyyy! H/T Jay Moran

So I won’t say those things.

Instead, here are my thoughts:

  1. Slovakia, though I didn’t pick them to place as high as they did, was both a surprise to me and not a surprise at all to me. When the Slovakian roster was announced, I said to myself, “Huh. There are a lot of good players from Slovakia, apparently.” And there were…
  2. I cannot BELIEVE the Russians rolled over and played dead like they did against Canada. They looked like they just didn’t care.
  3. This will be the last Olympics for Drury, Rafalski, Orpik, and Gleason, but you’ve got to think many of the other members of Team USA 2010 have a great shot at making the team next time around… and will have four more years of experience. That fact makes me want to rub my hands together in the villian in a cartoon. The future looks bright…
  4. Ryan Miller mentioned that Team USA and USA Hockey probably gained some respect around the world. Did they ever! And since USA Hockey just announced a multi-million initiative to upgrade their developmental program, the sky’s the limit.
  5. Don’t be late tuning in to the Sabres game on Wednesday night. Something tells me there’s going to be some sort of ceremony for the medal winners/Olympians and that Ryan Miller is going to bring down the house. Of course, if you ARE late, that will be ok since they will be cheering for Miller well into the 9-o’clock hour…
  6. The Sabres play the Penguins on Tuesday. Revenge for Miller if he plays – you can take that to the bank.
  7. I love the Olympics but I’m glad they’re over. I actually watched movies on ABC Family last night rather than watching more Olympics – how sad is that?
  8. According to Paul Hamilton’s interview last week on WGR, Paul Gaustad was on this team until the last vote, when they replaced him with Ryan Callahan. Do you think Gaustad would’ve been the better choice? I’m torn. I like Ryan Callahan, despite the fact he plays for the freeging Rangers. Could Gaustad have done better? We’ll never know, but feel free to argue one way or the other in the comments.
  9. And lastly, RIGHT before Crosby scored my hubby said, “Wow, if Crosby scored Canada would go nuts.” Seriously, the puck went in as he finished talking. Feel free to blame him entirely for the loss.

Now back to our regularly-scheduled programming! GREAT hockey! Go Sabres!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

