jump to navigation

Sabres vs Canadiens 3/24/10 Postmortem March 25, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

A day late, hopefully not a dollar short – here’s the Sabres/Canadiens postmortem post!

*clapping*

I would like to go on record that I knew it was Montador’s goal as soon as it was scored. Come on, NHL – give him the goal! It’s not like he’s a prolific scorer – the dude needs every point he can get. By the way, I loved him in front of the net. I’ve always thought putting one of our d-men in front of the opposition net is a good idea. After all, who knows better than a d-man where to stand and how to create the maximum amount of havoc?

I’m not going to do Like/Didn’t like for this post. Why? Because, frankly, I knew the score of the game going in and only watched the last five minutes of regulation and the shootout. But here’s what I thought:

  • Carey Price was shaky. I heard this morning he was coughing up rebounds all night. Memo to the Sabres: in the playoffs, you might want to cash a few of those in…
  • Ryan Miller kept them in the game. It was obvious even from the little I saw of the highlights that the team would’ve been dead meat without him.
  • Tim Connolly should not play on the point on the power play. I’ve seen him make too many mistakes for my comfort level. I liked Roy on the point, I like Pominville in the slot, Vanek in front of the net, but I don’t like Connolly anywhere but the half-wall.
  • The Sabres had a power play in overtime and couldn’t convert? Oy.
  • Three wrist shots, and two get by Price in the shootout. Nice shot selection, guys!
  • Ryan Miller has such a strange method in shootouts, but when he sticks to it, it seems to work.
  • I was sorry I didn’t see the split-screen with Ruff and Miller doing charades about when Miller should come to the bench. I could’ve used a good laugh last night, but I didn’t see it on my DVR footage.
  • 10 games to go, 10 points needed to win the division. Let’s hope the Sabres are playing .500 hockey going into the playoffs.
  • I vote we play Philly in the first round. That sounds like fun!
  • The Sabres are pretty healthy, which is great, but I better not hear they traded for Raffi Torres knowing he was injured. This situation is already way too close to Dominic Moore last year without that…

Sabres play the dreaded Ottawa Senators tomorrow. Blech. Kick their asses, boys!

Comments»

1. S. Tooth - March 25, 2010

KISS their asses? That brings up really uncomfortable imagery. Especially if Jason Spezza is involved.

manda903 - March 25, 2010

Oh geez – is that what I said? Let me go back and change that… that’ll teach me to type fast!


Leave a Reply

