jump to navigation

The Curious Case of the Perplexing Players October 25, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I know I haven’t been blogging as often as I should be this season – life has been, shall we say, a little crazy. I’ve been trying to write my book every chance I get, including during hockey games *gasp*, because my child is usually in bed by then and one of the only times I have free to write. During the day I stay home with her and it’s hard to get anything done with a two-year-old running around. šŸ˜‰ Nonetheless, I shall soldier as best I can…

What to say about these Sabres? Are they a good hockey team? Do they suck? I suspect they are a good hockey team, but not as good as they looked Saturday night. CLEARLY something very, very bad is going on in New Jersey *coughIlyaKovalchukitiscough*, but I don’t think they’re as bad as they’ve looked at times either.

Even if Ryan Miller struggles all season he’s still a better goaltender than at least two-thirds to three-quarters of the goaltenders out there. Even if the power play struggles all season (and let’s face it, it probably will) – the penalty killing should be in the top ten. Even if Tyler Myers has a sophomore slump, he’s still got more natural talent and will still play better than most of the other youngsters around the league.

You may think this is a regurgitation of my “Five Reasons Not to Hit the Panic Button” post, and maybe it is, but dammit, I still believe in this team! There are just too many good players for them to continue to wallow in the dank, dark basement of the NHL.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

