jump to navigation

Sabres vs. Canadiens 11/5/10 Postmortem November 5, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Once again I’m late starting this game but I expect to catch up fast. Hopefully the boys will give me a good effort and not make me regret taking the night off from writing. With that said…

Liked:

  • Good hustle by Pominville to split the defense.
  • I think playing Sekera in favor of Butler or Weber is the right move considering the state the team is in right now. I think his development is just a little bit further along than the other two guys – he can be trusted more. Plus, he’s a more offensive player.
  • Is it just me or is Montador a beast? In a good way, of course…
  • Vanek’s trying hard tonight.
  • I still like the Leopold/Montador defense pairing.
  • At one point with about seven minutes to go in the first period I thought the Sabres were on the power play. They weren’t. Huh. Well, lookie that.
  • Nice play by Tyler Ennis on that first goal.
  • Pominville looks like he’s got his sea legs back.
  • Kind of funny how after these scrumbs in front of the net Ennis skates away and lets the other guys push and shove for him. Smart kid, that one.
  • Wow, really nice block by Sekera with his shin pads. Then he gets the puck out of the zone and would’ve had a play if he hadn’t been tripped.
  • Do you ever get the feeling Gaustad wins so many draws merely because he drops his “large human” body on top of the other centerman and suffocates him?
  • I like that Jordan Leopold fellow.

Didn’t like:

  • Am I the only person who wonders if Jochen Hecht has really good blackmail material on Lindy Ruff to get all this good playing time? He’s on a good line, he’s on the power play, and why? Can someone explain it to me? And I’m not talking about the last couple of games, I’m talking about the last five YEARS.
  • I heard Rob Ray mention a “Too Many Men” penalty and thought to myself – “It that’s on Buffalo I’m going to put a hole in the wall.” Thank God it wasn’t. That would’ve hurt.
  • Roy has turned ice cold. Dude needs some shooting practice.
  • Harry mentioned that Montreal’s power play was first in the league last year and is 29th so far this year. Man, that power play is a fickle, fickle mistress, isn’t she?
  • I don’t care that Mike Grier scored. I still think he’s a waste of roster space.
  • Lalime plays realllly high in his crease, which isn’t great for a guy who isn’t very mobile this late in his career. Also, do you think he has plain white pads just in case he get shipped out of town? Just sayin’…
  • Poor Myers still looks a little lost out there.
  • Don’t you not want to be the player the coach is leaning on when he’s screaming at the ref from behind the bench? Just hold on and hope you keep your hearing, man.
  • Why is Craig Rivet playing on the man advantage unit? Why?
  • I know he’s been hurt and stuff, but I expected a little more physicality from Morrisonn.
  • I don’t think anyone has more almost-goals than Thomas Vanek. Oy.
  • Oh, Tyler Myers… your mistakes are getting costly out there.

Ok, it’s 10pm and I happen to know that the Sabres lose this one. Again. So I’m not going to watch the rest and blog it. I see no reason to torture myself. Overall it looked like a pretty good game. Maybe they can take some momentum into tomorrow night. *rolling eyes*

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

