jump to navigation

Sabres Naughty or Nice List December 22, 2010

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I have decided to be the judge AND jury regarding whether the Sabres should be receiving lumps of coal or awesome presents. I have to say – it doesn’t look like Santa is going to be very busy in the Sabres locker room this year…

Nice:

Luke Adam: When called upon the kid has played pretty well.

Tyler Ennis: A little too much stickhandling for my peace of mind, but otherwise he’s growing into his own.

Patrick Kaleta: For the most part Kaleta has done what the Sabres pay him to do – annoy the hell out of their opponents.

Cody McCormick: This man has been a revelation. Give him whatever he wants – candy, records, hookers…

Drew Stafford: I’m giving Stafford a pardon off the “Naughty” list since when he’s in the lineup he’s been pretty effective.

Derek Roy: The only consistently good forward on the team.

Thomas Vanek: He’ll get a pass mostly because of the points he’s putting up. The -10 ain’t great, though. Maybe a stocking stuffer is all he’ll get.

Jordan Leopold: I know he makes egregious errors at times, but overall he’s been a steadying influence on the blue line. Plus, he gets points!

Steve Montador: Playing with Leopold seems to be agreeing with him.

Tyler Myers: I hemmed and hawed over this one, but I’ll put him in this category mostly because of the huge minutes he eats up and how he can still dominate when he’s feeling confident.

Andrej Sekera: He mostly makes it onto this list because of how good the Myers/Sekera has been lately. But I like the kid, too, and since I’m judge and jury I can do what I want.

Ryan Miller: ‘Nuff said.

Jhonas Enroth: Like Adam he’s played well when called upon.

Naughty:

Tim Connolly: I know he’s put up points – when he’s been in the lineup – but I just see nothing in him. This is an old, old song, and I’d like to throw the CD away.

Jason Pominville: Yes, I’m giving my favorite player a lump of coal. I don’t know what’s wrong, but please fix it. You’re making me sad.

Paul Gaustad: Mostly invisible.

Mike Grier: Ditto.

Jochen Hecht: A trainwreck for most of this season. Stop colliding with your own teammates at least, man!

Rob Niedermayer: Apparently he was hurt, but he’s also been a non-factor.

Nathan Gerbe: Taking around 30 games to score your first goal is not a good thing when you’re supposed to be a goal scorer, just FYI.

Craig Rivet: He needs to hang ’em up. Sorry, but he does.

Chris Butler: Struggling mightily, and making some costly mistakes.

Shaone Morrisonn: Apparently he’s been playing hurt too, which seems silly since the Sabres carry so many d-men on the roster.

Mike Weber: Another struggling young d-man. I really like Weber so I hope he can pull out of this.

Patrick Lalime: Same problem, different year…

 

Well, that ended up split almost evenly down the middle, which explains why the Sabres are so far out of the playoff race…

Do you disagree with any of my assessments? Let me know in the comments section!

Comments»

1. SabreDave - December 24, 2010

Is there a statistic for “breakaway attempts”? If so, I’d love to see Greir’s % of scoring on breakaways. 3% maybe? And how does the slowest player on the team get so many clean lanes to the net?

Lets keep Luke Adam up and send Greir to be a motivational speaker since his leadership qualities are somehow keeping him on the roster…

/rant over.

2. Richard - December 22, 2010

Not a bad assessment. And I agree with mikespub. Weber plays with passion, like he wants to stay up with the big team. I hope he makes it.
I watched a fair amount of the playoffs last year and saw teams that just played harder (than the Sabres), that looked like they really wanted to win the dang thing. I have no idea why we don’t see more of that with the Sabres.

3. mikespub - December 22, 2010

I think I concur. Love to see the sabres remember how to trade a few of the coal lumps to bring in the affordable Brad Richards from Dallas. This roster as is is too prone to passionless hockey and that has been going on for far too long


Leave a Reply

