jump to navigation

NHL Super Skills – from my perspective January 30, 2011

Posted by calvin in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Okay, we’re ready for Super Skills! Huh. I could’ve sworn Tyler Ennis was a Sabre. #announcerfail

Fastest skater:

  • Skating an entire lap around the rink backward. I am really impressed by this. Maybe I shouldn’t  be, but I am.
  • Okay, I love that the goalies are doing the fastest skater competition.
  • The regular skaters are only a few seconds faster than the goalies. I find this hilarious.
  • Man, Green is SLOW.

Breakaway challenge:

  • Creative attempts, but not very successful.
  • LOVE PK Subban taking Jeff Skinner’s jersey to get the home crowd on his side.

Accuracy shooting:

  • I always wonder how it’s possible to be bad at accuracy shooting and still have a career in the NHL.
  • Heh. Daniel Sedin says “I don’t need my brother.”

Skills challenge relay:

  • Nice job on the stickhandling, Tyler Ennis!
  • Wow, that angle Daniel Sedin had in the one-timers was NOT easy. Unless he was Jochen Hecht.
  • Dan Boyle was pretty impressive with those ‘ittle bitty nets.
  • Alrighty then, Toews. Well played…

Hardest shot:

  • Did it ever occur to any of y’all that there are times goalies go “Arghhhhhh!” and duck due purely to instinct?
  • Brent Burns – 92.4 mph – really? And you call yourself a hockey player? Phpt.
  • Uh-oh, Chara’s lookin’ nervous… and he doesn’t beat Weber on the first try. Or the second one.
  • Oh, Rick Nash… a large human with a small shot.
  • DUDE. 105.9 mph. Okay, Chara, I bow to your shooting greatness.

And there you have it. Now on to the All Star Game tonight!

Comments»

1. Richard - January 30, 2011

Pretty much sums it up. I’m not sure if Tyler Ennis was the fastest at the stick handling but he was easily the smoothest.


Leave a Reply

